KALEMEGDAN PARK was cultivated at the end of the 19th century on an empty plateau in front of Belgrade Fortress which served for spotting the enemy when he approached. The greenery was also planted at those times. Misterious and beautifull ancient town, in past called Singidunum,is full of sculptures, pavillons, Zoo, and the best place for walkers, talkers and lovers.
The complex of Belgrade Fortress comprises Upper town, Lower town and Kalemegdan Park. The present shape of the wall was formed at the end of the 18 th century, but the greatest part of the buildings was destroyed in the wars led from those times to the present.
There are two entrances to the fortress; from the south, by the way of Kalemegdan park, through the Stambol Gate , and from the west, through terraces, across a drawbridge and a low gate.
On the topmost terraces, facing west, there rises, the 4 metre high,The Victor
the symbol of Belgrade, bronze statue on a stone pillar by Ivan Meštrović.Monument was erected in 1928 on the 10 th anniversary of the breakthrough of the front near Thessalonica (great victory of the Serbian army in the First World War).The „Victor“ is shown with his right hand restind on the hilt of his sward and holding a falcon in his left hand.
There is also Monument to Despot Stefan Lazarević (1377-1427), who first made Belgrade the capital of all Serbian countries.Despot Stefan Lazarević dedicated Belgrade to the Most Holy Mother of God by cpecial charter in 1403. Besides Constantinople, Belgrade is the only city in the world dedicated to Most Holy Virgin.
Despot’s Gate was erected in the first half of the 15 th centnury and is the best preserved part of the fort from the time od despot Stefan Lazarević.
For a long time it was the main gate to the Upper town. The tower next to the gate is used as an Astronomcial Observatory.
Clock –tower was erected in the 18 th century above the South gate of the Outer town. The Turks used it as an observaion point. It is possible to climb the tower.
Roman Well is a mystrious structure 62 m deep, 10 m below the Sava’s riverbed. There is a spiral staircase around the well leading down to its bottom. Fortress is supplied with water, but nobody knows where these waters come from. It can be visited in groups registered in the tourist bureau inside the South gate.
In the eastern section of the fortress is Church Ružica –Shrine of the birth of the Holy Mother of God.
You must visit one of the most beautiful church in Belgrade, with two bronze statues of Serbian warriors at its entrance, and feel the real spirit and sacral atmosphere in it.
There is also St. Petka’s Church which was built above the miraculous spring. St Petka is greatly respected and loved by Serbian people, because of many wonders that happens all the time especially among women.
Lower town comprises the riverbank area of the fotress where the main part of the city was situated in the Middle Ages. It was surrounded by wall but only a couple of buildings survived to this day. One of them is certanly Nebojša Tower. It was built in 1460. as a cannon tower and was one of the docking towers between which an iron chain was spread, closing the entrance to the port.