From the northern end of Terazije, on the right begins, Kolarčeva Street, leading to Republika Square , with its monument of Prince Mihajlo on horseback, the work of Florentine sculptor Enrico Paci (1882).
On the right hand side of this square rises the National Theatre, built in 1868 and reconstructed after the First World War, on the front is National Museum.
From the northern end of Republika Square The Vase Čarapića Street begins and connents the former with the Student Square and the adjoining University park.
In Student Square is the Old University building. A solid structure, uniting the elements of Romance-Gothic, and Renaissance style, it was donated „to his homeland“ by Danube ship’s master Miša Anastasijević. A Next to the Old Universaity is the Kolarac People’s University – foundation of Ilija Kolarac and prominent as a representative institution for popullarizing science and art.
You can listen the most famous concerts of classic music at night there.
In the Student Square there is also the modern palatial building of the Ethnographic Museum.
Continuing into Uzun Mirkova Street, one comes to the place where Uzun Mirkova intersects Kralja Petra Street, taking one to the entrance of Kalemegdan park.
Going down Kralja Petra Street to the right, one reaches Gospodar Jevremova Street, and here in a small garden on the left is situated in the 17 th century Bayrakli Mosque.
Going down Kralja Petra Street to the left, on reaches the National Bank on the left hand and Ortodox Catethedral of Saint Michael the Archangel – Saborna crkva, on the right hand one. Saborna crkva was built on the site of the old XVII century chuch. The relics of Despot Stefan Štiljanović is preserved in front of the altar. The graves of the Obrenović rulers: Milan, Miloš and Mihailo are also in the church. Dositej Obradović and Vuk Karadžić are buried at the front entrance to the church.
Across from the church is a small 19 th century building which houses the curiously named “?” Question Mark Tavern, and facing its main entrancen is the Partriarchate building, a beautiful stone structure. The Museum of Serbian Ortodox Church in Patriarchate is one of the oldest Serbian museums.
Not far from here, in Sime Markovića Streeet, is situated a rare 19 th centura architectual monument the Princess Ljubica House. Built in Serb Byzantine style it has originally decorated roof and eaves and was built by prince Miloš as a present to his wife and children.
By following Sime Markovića Streeet in a northern direction , one reaches Kalemegdan and the stairs leading down a seep slope to the bank of the Sava.